South Downs Primary School follows the  Australian Curriculum and sets the achievement standards for South Australian school students in eight learning areas:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Cultural Studies – Japanese

Visit curriculum in South Australia for more information.

Disability Unit

The South Downs Disability Unit works with students, families, staff, and outside providers to develop individual One Plans for students. We have a strong focus on the use of augmentative and alternative communication, providing a sensory and play-based curriculum that develops communication, literacy and numeracy.

Keeping Safe: Child Protection Curriculum

The Keeping Safe: Child Protection Curriculum (KS:CPC) is required for all children and young people in our school. It’s taught each year by teachers who have completed a full-day KS:CPC training course.  

It teaches children to: 

  • recognise abuse and tell a trusted adult about it 
  • understand what touching is appropriate and inappropriate  
  • understand ways of keeping themselves safe. 

Visit Keeping Safe: Child Protection Curriculum information for parents and carers for more information.